MARCH OF THE DEAD

2 (2)

(The picture is a photo inside a cave. I took it somewhere in the middle of France)

For the first time since mine died I got to take a dog for a short walk over the weekend. A small, cool dog called Barney. Inevitably, I had a couple of random thoughts while walking him. Well, more like a random question, plus a random thought. First, wouldn’t the zombie genre have an entirely different edge if zombies had to give their pet dogs a bit of morning exercise before setting off to do zombie work for the rest of the day? Second, what with their giant halva (the most horrible, flaky sweet you could ever eat – like sugar coated dandruff) hands, it is unlikely that a zombie could responsibly keep a budgerigar (or any bird or rodent, thinking about it) as a caged pet, as cleaning out the litter tray would be impossible.  Anyway, it was around this time I remembered I once composed a piece of Sound Art with zombies in mind.

DCIM100MEDIA

This is an early composition.  As I was – I still am – heavily into zombie movies and music sampling I wanted this piece to reflect that and communicate an understandable feeling of fear and discomfort.  Out of a library of samples I made, the key elements I used for my recipe here were gun shots, screams, radio talk, police cars, generic zombie sounds, doors/gates opening and shutting, smashing windows, guns reloading, voices and a little music plus some dramatic orchestral sounds. After applying techniques and manipulation I had the finished piece. I like to think it would fit in really well into a video game – I’m heavily into gaming as well as zombies – sad, I know.

https://soundcloud.com/zoolon/march-of-the-dead

If you fancy a visit, the Zoolon Audio website it is at www.zoolonaudio.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ZoolonAudio?lang=en-gb

YouTube: www.youtube.com/channel/UCtOtegaQCJKBCZWYJDHOTPg

SoundCloud:  https://soundcloud.com/zoolon

Copyright © 2017 Zoolon Audio.  All rights reserved.  Unauthorised copying, reproduction, hiring, lending, public performance and broadcasting prohibited.

34 thoughts on “MARCH OF THE DEAD

      1. Well, if you enjoy the stuff, it’s money well spent. Well, you are running a country , Lord Z! Don’t see why you should cry anyways. Went from the state’s coffers , ha ha, it’s cool.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. George, what a fantastic cave. Barney is adorable and the sun was out. When I read your words I had a random thought, how could a zombie have a pet for more than a few moments, don’t they eat most things that move? “MARCH OF THE DEAD”, terrific sound art with great creep factor. ~ Feather & Lightfoot

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was some cave. I can’t remember the town where it is, but basically at the back of a really old house, in the garden, there were steps down into a whole maze of these caves. It was hardly advertised and cost just a few Euro’s to get in. It is possible a zombie might want a pet, but they just can’t help themselves, Feather & Lightfoot (although Lightfoot probably doesn’t have his own take on zombies).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It makes me wonder about the original owners of the really old house. “I just couldn’t help myself”, that would be a good defense before the judge. Animals seem to be keen about things that aren’t quite right, for instance immediately before an earthquake, maybe they’re that way with zombies too. ~ Feather & Lightfoot

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Dude, this is TOTALLY a montage track for Ash building a new crazy-ass weapon for fighting the Evil Dead. I mean, you’ve got the perfect moments to sync up the zooming close-ups to his chain-saw hand, or his eyes, or his chin, or, of course: “Groovy.”
    Or: “Work shed.”

    Kickass, Friend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: wolf4915

Leave a Reply

