NO MORE A VENDETTA

cosa-nostra-cover

This is a track from my concept album ‘Cosa Nostra’. Basically, this album was an exercise in Found Sound (i.e. using sound samples I ‘found’ then captured to create music/sound art). The album was themed around a storyboard I created. A bit like Romeo & Juliet except the families at war are both 20th century Mafia.

For this piece, I wanted to invoke the feel of revenge, as well as a night-time chase through city streets ending in the shooting of a hitman who had killed the lover of my central character. He had travelled from Scilly to New York to take that revenge.

‘Cosa Nostra’ was a big project and lyric free. Its sole purpose was to try to tell a story through the various emotions that sound can deliver. There’s a lot going on and personally I like to listen through headphones, or with the volume pumped up.

The pic is the album cover I designed for the project.

Hope you like this.

If you fancy a visit the Zoolon Audio website it is at www.zoolonaudio.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ZoolonAudio?lang=en-gb

YouTube: www.youtube.com/channel/UCtOtegaQCJKBCZWYJDHOTPg

SoundCloud:  https://soundcloud.com/zoolon

Copyright © 2016 Zoolon Audio.  All rights reserved.  Unauthorised copying, reproduction, hiring, lending, public performance and broadcasting prohibited.

31 thoughts on “NO MORE A VENDETTA

  1. George, you’re right loud is the way to go, “No More a Vendetta” is amazing! I could see the entire story unfolding in my mind while listening. I love all the emotional tension and chaos (the chase) that the sounds provided, the whistle (?) is a great touch. I believe you also captured a moment of sweet revenge, then it feels like a hurry up to flee the scene. The last few seconds are very clever, which I think is the sound of an old film projector. It’s obvious you spared no details in creating this, wonderful, I throughtly enjoyed listening to this. The album cover is outstanding, you have a terrific eye for design. I hope you’re staying warm. ~ Mia

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is so nice to hear that you’ve really taken time out and listened to the whole track. Not everyone does that. The projector noise, or at least one sourced from a royalty free source was hard to find yet I felt it the right thing to bookend each track with as it fitted the era. I’ve stayed warm by not going out. My car still has Tuesday’s frost on it. Presently I am dealing with a poltergeist without an imagination. He/it/she is causing more random thoughts than usual. Have a splendid day both you and Rexie.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome George, it’s truly my pleasure. The idea of the projector noise is really terrific, the piece has a film noir quality to it (the album cover as well), I’m not sure if that’s what you were after, what do I know? Really I wonder about that all the time, so much to know, so little time! Poltergeist, they can be quite helpful if you feed them properly. They love peanut butter and honey, and can you believe they love those little bags of silica, the ones that read, “DO NOT EAT”, it’s a perfect snack food for them, the silica seems to dry them out, then they’re able to think clearly. Who knows they may even defrost your car for you. Thank you, Rexie and I have sunshine at the moment, rain-drizzle is on the way. Wishing you a wonderful evening and a very creative weekend ahead. ~ M & R

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Film noir was exactly what I wanted this piece and the whole album to sound like. You got it in one. I really ought to drive the car before it thinks I’ve deserted it. As to the poltergeist it seems to have no dietary requirements. It really seems a bit thick in the head. I must write some random thoughts about it when I get the chance. By the way I saw a YouTube video where some bloke put a cucumber on the floor behind where his cat was eating so that when the cat turned around it jumped out of its skin, probably thinking the cucumber was a snake about to kill it. It is so cruel to do that yet his video was going viral. You and Rexie enjoy the sunshine, I’m off to watch football in the rain.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. F’ing brilliant. Like, I want to write out the word, but let’s not be crude. Well a little crude. That seriously was a fantastic mix of rhythms and expressions knotted and woven into a single, solid cord. A chord cord. Okay that was horrible word-play, but I think you get that I liked it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Film noir, art deco feel for the ocean track was the basis yet sampling found sound to compose with was hard as I wanted to get the feel on the liner rather than the feel of the sea – if that makes sense? I’ll post it soon.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I’ll post a few more tracks from this album over the next couple of weeks. I hope you’ll like them. You write romantic books I remember. Where do your ideas for a story come from?

      Like

      1. Story ideas come from so many places. Sometimes from my travels, other stories, songs, sometimes from reading non-fiction such as books about a historical figure or place. I guess inspiration for music is similar?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m never sure where ideas come from. I hate it when I have a melody and the search for a lyric comes up blank. Sometimes the easiest way for me is to write the lyric is simple verse first, then adapt the verse when composing the melody. Acoustic ballads usually work that way for me. I know I’d struggle writing a long story, let alone a book. It doesn’t help being colour blind and dyslexic. My final year at uni writing up thousands of words was torture. Somehow I got a 1st but God knows how. It’s interesting that you get your skeleton for a story from so many places outside your head before putting them in your head. I don’t think I could do that. I’m envious.

        Like

      3. That’s interesting, so your music is already in your head when you’re composing it! For me it’s more like a sounding board (pun intended?) where certain ideas resonate with me, and then I do my own thing with them. So in that sense, I guess I do use internal ideas as well, but often it’s inspired by an outside source.
        Sorry to hear about your struggles in writing. I think it’s good to try and do things you’re not naturally predisposed to because the results may surprise you. I’ve certainly enjoyed your writing on your blog. Speaking of struggles, I do hope I can write a song one day, though I’m much better with words than I am with music.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. The writer and the lyricist. A lot a people would think they’re one and the same. But we’re not. If I could write poetry, I would. On the times when a lyric comes first, it never stays the same when added to melody…repetition of lines takes over. If you ever saw a basic verse I have written as a lyric it would look appalling (I beat the spell check on that one three times, by the way). In fact I might post a lyric in it’s raw state then later as a song. My raw state lyrics could never be poems. Really fascinating debate. You make me think. The only plus for certified dyslexics is that I got a first…nearly sent me mad but I got it. Didn’t help get me a job, hence this business which at the moment is going better than the business plan. I hope it stays that way. I enjoy your wisdom.

        Like

      5. The curse of lyrics read raw, without melody, is that inevitably each word has to be just one, or two syllables. The pleasure of reading proper writers is that they paint pictures with just words. It has just started snowing heavily here, just this last 5 minutes. Not recording at the moment I the sound proofing down from the Dorma window in my attic/studio. The world suddenly looks a better place. Have a great evening.

        Like

Leave a Reply

