THE CURSE OF THE MISSING ALLEN KEY

georges-guitar-3

Most of the time I live, breath and think about all things music although sometimes I get interrupted by the random small things of life.

Take today. All I wanted to do was restring my old Ibanez Guitar. It is one of my favourite guitars and I needed it for a piece I’m working on.  To change the strings, I needed the bespoke Allen key I always kept in the guitar case. It wasn’t there. I think it’s lost forever so I looked for any Allen key that might fit. In the shed I found 47 Allen keys, some the same size as each other, others of different sizes – 48 if I counted the giant Allen key I can’t see the point of. Not one fitted my Ibanez.  The only person close by who might have the right Allen key runs a music shop and is the most miserable old bloke I’ve ever done business with. He sighs every time a customer enters his place and talks like he’s doing me a favour when I’m the one who’s paying. I can’t face him so now I must think of a plan B.

This is true. When I was thinking up plan B a random event I thought I’d got rid of yesterday interrupted me. Yesterday I had been told that you get salmonella mainly from contact with raw chicken. I didn’t know that. Not that I’d ever thought about it that much, I had always presumed that salmonella could only be caught if I was in contact with a sick salmon. I thought the clue was in the word.  I think salmonella should be called chickenella.  I doubt it’ll catch on.

Then someone suggested I simply go to the local DIY and buy a new set of Allen keys. I hadn’t thought of that. Then I remembered I don’t carry cash and I still haven’t remembered my pin numbers for my bank cards. On the plus side, I did remember to eat.

If you ever need samples for your music (not Allen keys) the website address is

https://www.zoolonaudio.com/index.html

I’m also at,

SoundCloud:  https://soundcloud.com/zoolon

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ZoolonAudio

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=zoolon+audio

Copyright © 2016 Zoolon Audio.  All rights reserved.  Unauthorised copying, reproduction, hiring, lending, public performance and broadcasting prohibited.

39 thoughts on “THE CURSE OF THE MISSING ALLEN KEY

    1. Almost good. I broke the last string when re-stringing and in my desk drawer where thousands of strings live a replacement for the broken one wasn’t there. My pin numbers lived on a bit of paper in that drawer. I think they have eloped.

      Liked by 3 people

  1. Haha great post👍 I’m currently teaching myself how to play the acoustic guitar and worried my break one of the strings as I’m not sure how to put I new one on 😄 I guess I’ll cross that bridge when I get there 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It came with the guitar. I got it 8 years ago. I discovered the allen key was in imperial not metric. Because of the lost pin numbers I had to borrow the cost of a massive great set of keys just so I had the right one. He keeps reminding me he wants the money back.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

